Local hiking trails

Five local paths are way-marked.

Trail A

The 7.5km-long (4.7 miles) trail A starts in Ettelbruck the city centre, and then leads through a forest to Grentzingen and on to the “Karelshaff”. Once you have reached the highest point (with a positive height difference of 184 metres), you will be rewarded with a magnificent view of Ettelbruck and its surroundings.

Trail A is not recommended for small children or people with restricted mobility due to the relatively steep ascent and the street crossings. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

View the path on geoportail.lu

Trail B

Path B (distance: 7.2km – 4.5 miles, height difference: 188 metres) starts from Camping Kalkesdelt to the Wellerbësch Forest, and gives a splendid view of the “Haupeschhaff” and the surroundings of Ettelbruck.

From the “Schass” plateau onwards, the trail is identical to trail A.

Suggestion: If you wish to extend your walk, you can also follow the signposts for trail A in the opposite direction and walk through Karelshaff, Mederhaff and Grentzingen, finally returning to Ettelbruck. So instead of turning left and following the CR305 towards Ettelbruck, you turn right and follow the CR305 to the Karelshaff.

Trail B is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility because of the relatively steep climb and because the path runs alongside roads on occasions. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

Path C

Trail C leads you to the “Lopert” plateau, where the remains of the “Kalléksuewen” bear witness to the limestone quarries of yesteryear. Passing over the “Schoofsbréck” bridge in Warken, the trail leads through forests back to Ettelbruck.

Trail C is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility due to the narrow and steep forest paths. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

View the path on geoportail.lu

Trail D

Path D is 5.8km (3.6 miles) long, leads to the Patton Monument, then through a small forest to the “Haard” (height difference: 138 metres). Here you can enjoy a unique view of Ettelbruck and its surroundings, and if you wish, exert yourself on the fitness trail in the middle of an attractive natural environment.

Trail D is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility due to the relatively steep ascent. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

On the way back, we recommend a visit to the General Patton Memorial Museum and a shopping tour of the more than 80 shops in the pedestrianised zone.

View the path on geoportail.lu

Trail E

Trail E (Distance: 5.29km – 3.3 miles) leads you to the Nuck, where you can enjoy a special panoramic view of Ettelbruck. Revel in the peace and quiet as you walk beside the Sûre and Alzette rivers on your return to Ettelbruck.

Trail E is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility due to the relatively steep ascent. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

Lokale Wanderwege

Derzeit sind 5 lokale Wanderwege ausgeschildert.

Wanderweg A

Der 7,5 km lange Wanderweg A beginnt im Stadtzentrum von Ettelbrück. Anschließend führt er Sie nach Grentzingen und von dort durch einen Wald bis zum „Karelshaff“. Am höchsten Punkt (184 Meter Höhenunterschied) angekommen, werden Sie mit einer großartigen Aussicht auf Ettelbrück und seine Umgebung belohnt.

Der Wanderweg A wird nicht für kleine Kinder und ältere Menschen/Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität empfohlen, da der Anstieg ziemlich steil ist und er zum Teil am Straßenrand entlangführt. Da der Waldweg vor allem nach Regen schwierig und schlammig sein kann, ist festes Schuhwerk unbedingt erforderlich.

Sehen Sie sich die Route an auf geoportail.lu

Wanderweg B

Der Wanderweg B (Länge: 7,2 km, Höhenunterschied: 188 Meter) führt Sie zum Campingplatz „Kalkesdelt“ und weiter durch den Wald „Wellerbësch“. Ihnen eröffnet sich ein einmaliger Blick auf den „Haupeschhaff“ und die Umgebung von Ettelbrück.

Ab dem Hochplateau „Schass“ ist der Weg identisch mit dem Wanderweg A.

Vorschlag: Wenn Sie Ihre Wanderung etwas verlängern möchten, können Sie einfach der Beschilderung des Wanderwegs A in entgegengesetzter Richtung folgen und über den Karelshaff, Mederhaff und Grentzingen nach Ettelbrück zurückkehren. Anstatt also nach links abzubiegen und dem CR305 Richtung Ettelbrück zu folgen, wenden Sie sich nach rechts und folgen dem CR305 bis zum Karelshaff.

Der Wanderweg B wird nicht für kleine Kinder und Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität empfohlen, da der Anstieg ziemlich steil ist und er zum Teil am Straßenrand entlangführt. Da der Waldweg vor allem nach Regen schwierig und schlammig sein kann, ist festes Schuhwerk unbedingt erforderlich.

Wanderweg C

Der Wanderweg C führt Sie aufs Hochplateau „Lopert“, auf der die Ruine des „Kalléksuewen“ an den einstigen Kalksteinbruch erinnert. Über die Brücke „Schoofsbréck“ in Warken verläuft der Weg durch den Wald nach Ettelbrück zurück.

Der Wanderweg C wird nicht für kleine Kinder und Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität empfohlen, da er zum Teil über schmale und steile Waldwege führt. Da der Waldweg vor allem nach Regen schwierig und schlammig sein kann, ist festes Schuhwerk unbedingt erforderlich.

Sehen Sie sich die Route an auf geoportail.lu

Wanderweg D

Der 5,8 km lange Wanderweg D führt Sie zum Monument Patton und dann durch einen kleinen Wald zum „Haard“ (positiver Höhenunterschied: 138 Meter). Hier können Sie einen einzigartigen Blick auf Ettelbrück und seine Umgebung genießen und – falls Sie möchten – einen Fitnessparcours in freier Natur absolvieren.

Der Wanderweg D wird nicht für kleine Kinder und Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität empfohlen, da der Anstieg ziemlich steil ist. Da der Waldweg vor allem nach Regen schwierig und schlammig sein kann, ist festes Schuhwerk unbedingt erforderlich.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, auf dem Rückweg das General Patton Memorial Museum zu besuchen und eine Shoppingtour durch die Fußgängerzone (mehr als 80 Geschäfte) zu machen.

Sehen Sie sich die Route an auf geoportail.lu

Wanderweg E

Der Wanderweg E (Länge: 5,29 km) führt Sie auf die Nuck, auf der sich Ihnen ein atemberaubender Rundblick auf Ettelbrück bietet.

Genießen Sie die Ruhe während Ihrer Wanderung entlang der Sauer und der Alzette, an deren Ufer Sie zurück nach Ettelbrück gelangen.