Local hiking trails

Five local paths are way-marked.

Trail A

The 7.5km-long (4.7 miles) trail A starts in Ettelbruck the city centre, and then leads through a forest to Grentzingen and on to the “Karelshaff”. Once you have reached the highest point (with a positive height difference of 184 metres), you will be rewarded with a magnificent view of Ettelbruck and its surroundings.

Trail A is not recommended for small children or people with restricted mobility due to the relatively steep ascent and the street crossings. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

View the path on geoportail.lu

Trail B

Path B (distance: 7.2km – 4.5 miles, height difference: 188 metres) starts from Camping Kalkesdelt to the Wellerbësch Forest, and gives a splendid view of the “Haupeschhaff” and the surroundings of Ettelbruck.

From the “Schass” plateau onwards, the trail is identical to trail A.

Suggestion: If you wish to extend your walk, you can also follow the signposts for trail A in the opposite direction and walk through Karelshaff, Mederhaff and Grentzingen, finally returning to Ettelbruck. So instead of turning left and following the CR305 towards Ettelbruck, you turn right and follow the CR305 to the Karelshaff.

Trail B is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility because of the relatively steep climb and because the path runs alongside roads on occasions. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

Path C

Trail C leads you to the “Lopert” plateau, where the remains of the “Kalléksuewen” bear witness to the limestone quarries of yesteryear. Passing over the “Schoofsbréck” bridge in Warken, the trail leads through forests back to Ettelbruck.

Trail C is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility due to the narrow and steep forest paths. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

View the path on geoportail.lu

Trail D

Path D is 5.8km (3.6 miles) long, leads to the Patton Monument, then through a small forest to the “Haard” (height difference: 138 metres). Here you can enjoy a unique view of Ettelbruck and its surroundings, and if you wish, exert yourself on the fitness trail in the middle of an attractive natural environment.

Trail D is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility due to the relatively steep ascent. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

On the way back, we recommend a visit to the General Patton Memorial Museum and a shopping tour of the more than 80 shops in the pedestrianised zone.

View the path on geoportail.lu

Trail E

Trail E (Distance: 5.29km – 3.3 miles) leads you to the Nuck, where you can enjoy a special panoramic view of Ettelbruck. Revel in the peace and quiet as you walk beside the Sûre and Alzette rivers on your return to Ettelbruck.

Trail E is not recommended for small children and people with restricted mobility due to the relatively steep ascent. Since the forest path can be uneven and soft, especially after rainy weather, walking shoes are indispensable.

Sentiers locaux

Actuellement, 7 sentiers locaux sont balisés.

Sentier A

Le sentier A de 7,5 km commence dans le centre-ville d’Ettelbruck. Par la suite il vous mène à Grentzingen, à travers une forêt, jusqu’au « Karelshaff ». Une fois arrivé au point culminant (dénivelé positif de 184 mètres), vous serez récompensé par une vue magnifique sur Ettelbruck et ses alentours.

Le sentier A n’est pas conseillé pour des (petits) enfants et des personnes âgées/à mobilité réduite en raison de la montée assez raide et les passages en bord de la rue. Puisque le chemin forestier peut être accidenté et mou, surtout après des temps pluvieux, des chaussures de marche sont indispensables.

Visualisez le sentier sur geoportail.lu

Sentier B

Le Sentier B (distance: 7,2 km, dénivelé: 188 mètres) vous mène du Camping « Kalkesdelt » vers la forêt « Wellerbësch ». Vous aurez une vue unique sur le « Haupeschhaff » et sur les alentours d’Ettelbruck.

Depuis le plateau « Schass », le sentier est identique au sentier A.

Suggestion: Si vous souhaitez prolonger votre promenade, vous pouvez tout simplement suivre le balisage du sentier A en sens inverse et passer par le Karelshaff, Mederhaff et Grentzingen pour finalement retourner à Ettelbruck. Donc au lieu de tourner à gauche et de suivre le CR305 en direction d’Ettelbruck, vous tournez à droite et suivez le CR305 jusqu’au Karelshaff.

Le sentier B n’est pas conseillé pour des (petits) enfants et des personnes âgées/à mobilité réduite en raison de la montée assez raide et les passages en bord de la rue. Puisque le chemin forestier peut être accidenté et mou, surtout après des temps pluvieux, des chaussures de marche sont indispensables.

Sentier C

Le Sentier C vous mène au plateau « Lopert », où la ruine du « Kalléksuewen » témoigne des carrières de calcaire d’antan. Passant par le pont « Schoofsbréck » à Warken, le sentier mène à travers des forêts pour retourner à Ettelbruck.

Le sentier C n’est pas conseillé pour des (petits) enfants et des personnes âgées/à mobilité réduite en raison des chemins forestiers étroits et raides. Puisque les chemins forestiers peuvent être accidentés et mous, surtout après des temps pluvieux, des chaussures de marche sont indispensables.

Visualisez le sentier sur geoportail.lu

Sentier D

Le Sentier D, d’une longueur de 5,8 km, vous mène au Monument Patton, puis, à travers une petite forêt, jusqu’à la “Haard” (dénivelé positif: 138 mètres). Ici vous pouvez vous réjouir de la vue unique sur Ettelbruck et ses alentours, et, si vous souhaitez, passer un circuit fitness en pleine nature.

Le Sentier D n’est pas conseillé pour des (petits) enfants et des personnes âgées/à mobilité réduite en raison de la montée assez raide. Puisque le chemin forestier peut être accidenté et mou, surtout après des temps pluvieux, des chaussures de marche sont indispensables.

Au retour, nous vous conseillons une visite du General Patton Memorial Museum et de faire une tour de shopping dans la zone piétonne (plus de 80 magasins).

Visualisez le sentier sur geoportail.lu

Sentier E

Le sentier E (Distance: 5,29 km) vous mène à la Nuck, où une unique vue panoramique sur la ville d’Ettelbruck vous est offerte. Réjouissez-vous du calme lorsque vous vous promenez le long de la Sûre et de l’Alzette en retournant vers Ettelbruck.

<

Le sentier E n’est pas conseillé pour des (petits) enfants et des personnes âgées/à mobilité réduite en raison de la montée assez raide. Puisque le chemin forestier peut être accidenté et mou, surtout après des temps pluvieux, des chaussures de marche sont indispensables.